Rhombus Lines of Symmetry


Trigonometry Logo

Rhombus Lines of Symmetry

A rhombus has two lines of symmetry. In a rhombus, the lines of symmetry refer to the lines which divide a rhombus into two identical halves and each half is the mirror image of the other. Different objects have a different number of symmetry lines. Here, the rhombus lines of symmetry are discussed in detail.

What are the Lines of Symmetry in Rhombus?

A rhombus has 2 lines of symmetry which cuts it into two identical parts. Both the lines of symmetry in a rhombus are from its diagonals. So, it can be said the rhombus lines of symmetry are its both diagonals.

How are Rhombus Lines of Symmetry Different from Square Lines of Symmetry?

To recall, a rhombus is a 2-dimensional geometric figure whose all sides are equal. Unlike a square, the angles of a rhombus are not 90 degrees. So, the number of lines of symmetry are different for both square and rhombus. A rhombus has only two lines of symmetry, whereas a square has 4. This can be observed from the below figure.

Rotational Symmetry of a Rhombus

A rhombus has four equal sides but of varying angles. A rhombus has two lines of symmetry (vertical and horizontal), an order of two, and the angle of rotation of 180 degrees.

Also Check:

Frequently Asked Questions on Rhombus Lines of Symmetry

What is a Rhombus?

A rhombus is a quadrilateral whose all sides are equal, but angles are different. In a rhombus, the opposite sides are parallel, and the opposite angles are equal.

How Many Lines of Symmetry Does a Rhombus Have?

A rhombus has 2 lines of symmetry. The diagonals of a rhombus are its symmetry lines.

Does a Rhombus Have Rotational Symmetry?

Yes, a rhombus has rotational symmetry. A rhombus has rotational symmetry of 180° (Order 2).